Blog #1 for AVT 395

May 22, 2008 eunkyungan

The questions were:  What is it you do in your studio practice?  What issues or content interests you most?  What sort of work do you create?  As a graphic design student at George Mason University, I find it kind of difficult to answer these questions because in graphic designing we usually work for a client and don’t really get to create work that are related to issues or content that interests us.  In my case, my clients would be my professors that I have had in my graphic designing classes.  In addition, having taken only three graphic design classes (typography, graphic design methods and principles, and editorial design), I am still trying to discover myself as a graphic designer and trying to figure out what kind of graphic designing career I would want to do in the future.  However, last semester in my editorial design class, where we were required to redesign a poorly designed magazine, I found it fun and found myself being interested in designing magazines.  I feel that I still have a lot more room to learn and improve about graphic designing, but designing magazines is something I am thinking about.

 

This is just one example of my work that I did in my editorial design class.  In this assignment we were suppose to choose a magazine that we feel is “broken” and redesign it througout the semester.  In the example shown above is my new cover design (bottom) for the Small Business Opportunites magazine (top).  In my new cover design, I wanted this magazine to have more open space and easy to read because in the original cover everything is very cluttered and hard to read.  Its kind of hard to see because the images are so small, but in my new cover design I have pretty much all the same information as the original cover.

Entry Filed under: Uncategorized

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Pages

Categories

Calendar

May 2008
M T W T F S S
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Most Recent Posts