Blog #4 for AVT 395

June 9, 2008 eunkyungan

 

What is Art?!

 

Art to me is something to look at like a painting.

 

Art to me is something that you hear like music.

 

Art to me is something that you touch like a sculpture.

 

Art to me is something that you smell like a chocolate wedding cake.

 

Art to me is something that engages your senses like Ann Hamilton’s Tropos Installation.

 

Art to me is something that evokes an emotion like Barnett Newman’s Vir Hericus Sublimis painting.

 

Art to me is something that speaks out loud like Barbara Kruger’s You Body is a Battleground installation.

 

Art to me is something that has a deep meaning like Gonzalez-Torres’ Untitled (Portrait for Ross in L.A) Installation.

 

Art to me is something that is meaningless like Jeff Koon’s Rabbit.

 

Art to me is something that is traditional like Jacques-Louis David’s Oath of the Horatii painting.

 

Art to me is something that is futuristic like Boccioni’s Unique Forms of Continuity in Space sculpture.

 

Art to me is something that is abstract like Jackson Pollock’s Full Fathom Five painting.

 

Art to me is something that is figurative like Edouard Manet’s Olympia painting.

 

Art to me is something that is peaceful like Claude Monet’s landscape paintings.

 

Art to me is something that is crazy like Carolee Schneemann’s Interior Scroll performance.

 

Art to me is something that is pretty like Georgia O’Keeffe’s fower paintings.

 

Art to me is something that is disgusting like Damien Hirst’s A Thousand Years installation.

 

Art to me is EVERYTHING!

Entry Filed under: Uncategorized

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Pages

Categories

Calendar

June 2008
M T W T F S S
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Most Recent Posts